Association of Employees
Supporting Education Services

AESES-UW Bargaining (2019)

December 1, 2019

No new updates at this time.

October 1, 2019

At UW, the Bargaining Team has met a couple of times in September to review and organize the proposals established by the Negotiation Committee. At this point, AESES is awaiting a response from the University on when they are available to begin bargaining. Once an approximate date is established, an AESES membership meeting will be held to approve the proposals list, prior to meeting with the University. Communication regarding the membership meeting will follow, once more details are known.

August 1, 2019

At UW, the Negotiation Committee worked through an extensive list of bargaining proposals. Meeting weekly, the committee reviewed results of the membership Negotiation Survey that was sent out at the beginning of the year, before accepting a final list of proposals. Once the proposals list was finalized, a Bargaining Team was elected from the Negotiation Committee. The Bargaining Team members are: Eric Benson, Michele Del Rizzo, Joan Duesterdiek, Daniel Matthes, Leanne Shumka, and Dan Bailey (Alternate).

The Bargaining Team will meet after the summer break and a general membership meeting will follow once the team has finalized the proposal list. Stay tuned!

June 3, 2019

At The University of Winnipeg, the Negotiation Committee is meeting regularly to establish a set of proposals identified by the membership. Proposals came in through the traditional call-for-proposals process and also through the Negotiation Survey sent out earlier this year. The Negotiation Committee will continue working on finalizing its proposals for presentation to the membership in the near future.

April 1, 2019

The Negotiation Committee at The University of Winnipeg continues to meet on a weekly basis to review the results of the membership survey, as well as to finalize the proposals for the Bargaining Team to bring forth during the bargaining process.

December 3, 2018

With the current 4.5-year Collective Agreement with the University of Winnipeg set to expire on September 21, 2019, a Negotiation Committee was recently formed. The following members were elected by acclamation as representatives to a position on the AESES-UW Negotiation Committee:

  • District 51: Daniel Bailey (Education – C.A.T.E.P.)
  • District 51: Romer Bautista (Collegiate)
  • District 53: Eric Benson (Registrar, Graduate Studies)
  • District 54: Kerniel Aasland (Urban & Inner City Studies)
  • District 54: Michele Del Rizzo (TSC)
  • District 55: Char Ducharme (Facilities)
  • District 55: Daniel Matthes (Library)
  • District 56: Leanne Shumka (Awards & Financial Aid)
  • President: Laurie Morris (Philosophy)
  • Executive Appt: Pam Delorme (Biology)
  • Executive Appt: Joan Duesterdiek (TSC)
  • Executive Appt: Meaghan Michaluk (Kinesiology & Applied Health)
  • AESES Executive Director: Lisa McKendry
  • AESES Labour Relations Officer: Lorne Hilton
  • AESES Member Services Officer: Colleen Thompson

A call for proposals was also sent out to UW’s membership in November. Once the deadline to receive these passes, the team will plan their first meeting to begin discussing and reviewing all submitted potential proposals.

October 1, 2018

AESES is preparing to start the bargaining process at The University of Winnipeg, in light of our current collective agreement expiring on September 21, 2019. To start, a call has gone out for the nomination of members to join the AESES-UW Negotiation Committee. Each district can elect a maximum of two representatives to the committee. Only signed AESES members may nominate or be nominated to serve as a committee member.

Nomination forms were recently mailed out to all UW members. If you have not received one, please contact the AESES Office and we will provide you with the form. The deadline to receive nominations is October 9, 2018.

September 11, 2018

The current Collective Agreement expires on September 21, 2019. According to Clause 8.2.2 of the Association Bylaws it states, each member of the Negotiation Committee shall serve for a term that shall expire on the later date of either the signing of the collective agreement negotiated by that Negotiation Committee or ten (10) months prior to the termination of the collective agreement negotiated by that Negotiation Committee. Election shall be held immediately following expiration of the term of the members of the previous Negotiation Committee.

A nomination form for the Negotiation Committee can be downloaded here. If you are aware of a member in your district who you feel would represent you well in this capacity, please nominate him/her. Be sure to obtain his/her signature (and that of one other member) on the nomination form. Each district can elect a maximum of two representatives to the Negotiation Committee.

Nominations may be mailed to AESES c/o Mail Room, University of Winnipeg, or to the AESES Business Office at 103-900 Harrow St. E., Winnipeg, MB  R3M 3Y7, or fax your completed nomination form to 204-949-5215. You may also submit a scanned copy by email to The deadline for receipt of nominations is Tuesday, October 9, 2018.

Did you know

AESES is affiliated with the Confederation of Canadian Unions (CCU).

AESES' Charter Meeting was held in December of 1972.

We offer scholarships for AESES dependants at both universities.

Anyone can attend a Board meeting by calling the AESES Business Office prior to the meeting and confirming their attendance.

AESES requires new volunteers for various committees. Please contact the Business Office if you are an AESES member interested in joining one of our committees.

Back to top